Emotional Intelligence

What is Emotional Intelligence (EI)? EI is the capacity to observe, understand and evaluate our emotions and those of others. But it does not stop there. Being emotionally intelligent requires us to use the information we obtain to guide our judgments and behaviors.


Four Components of EI

These four components have two parts: self and others.

1.Self-awareness: being aware of your emotions, different reactions, and understanding how these emotions shape your outlook and actions.


2.Self-regulation: being able to regulate and manage your emotions, impulses and compulsive behaviors to keep your emotions in check as much as possible.


3.Sensitivity: being sensitive to the emotions of others, with thoughtless, and putting yourself in their shoes without being emotionally affected. It is also being able to identify the emotional needs of others, making others feel at ease in your presence and showing compassion and sympathy toward others.


4.Amiability: being able to manage relationships to grow them, making them more abundant, and the capacity to be relatable, which makes us better at communication, teamwork, and conflict management.


The simplest way to practice EI is to perceive, used, understand and manage your emotions. Increasing your EI is just like any other skill. It requires practice and consistency. Below are five behaviors to help you improve and practice your EI.


1.Learn to decrease your stress.

2.Practice moment to moment awareness.

3.Learn to read non-verbal cues.

4.Have a sense of humor! Laugh, laugh, and laugh.

5.Learn to disagree and have healthy tough conversation with others.


If you want to become more emotionally intelligent, you must practice these five behaviors on a daily basis and be consistent with your practice.